I had dinner guest on the way, and sadly nothing great planned to feed them. Unless of course I could call the semi-thawed pork chops that  sat in my kitchen sink, plans.  I also had very little idea of what to serve along side them. (I know, I know this is a grim beginning to a blog post, but it looks up I promise.)

I opened my freezer, and found over three pounds of spinach tucked away that I had seemingly  forgotten about. Frozen vegetables are a staple in my kitchen because of their convenience and taste.

Needless to say, the oversized bag of spinach was a beautiful sight!


I love creamed spinach, but oddly enough I have never made it. So I searched for a simple recipe online, and found one that looked good, and that I already had all the ingredients for.

So the cooking began….

First: Thaw the spinach: 


(I love this spinach, it comes in awesome little cubes)


After thawing is complete, place in heated skillet with olive oil until some of the water evaporates.

Season.

Then mix in the cream cheese until melted…

I eagerly unwrapped my cream cheese, and was instantly disgusted when I saw that it had been overtaken by mold!

So I grabbed a sharp knife, and scrapped off as much of the mold as possible.

Ok… ok…I’m totally kidding! I quickly threw the nasty cream cheese into the trash, and the scramble that led to the birth of a new recipe began….

Searching the fridge for something that resembles cream cheese is quite the adventure!

Yogurt? Hmm…probably not gonna work

Sesame oil?? Come on Mandee, what are you gonna do with that?

Then I saw it!! muenster cheese, and whole milk. Not quite what I had in mind, but can you ever go wrong with muenster and milk?


Then my excitement kicked in 🙂

I grabbed parmesan cheese, and generously applied a think layer atop the melting meunster.

Then added about half cup of milk, and stirred well!

And there you go, I now have my own unique rendition of creamed spinach!

I hope you enjoy this creamed spinach as much as I did! Nothing quite like a new spin, on a southern classic.

Yum:)



Ingredients: 

  • 10 0z frozen spinach
  • Olive oil
  • Seasoning salt
  • Garlic
  • 6 slices meunster cheese
  • 3/4 cup Parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 cup whole milk

Directions: 

  • Thaw spinach in microwave (2-3 minutes)
  • Add spinach to hot skillet that already has olive oil in it
  • Wait for most of the water to evaporate
  • Season to taste
  • Turn temp down to simmer
  • Add muenster cheese, Parmesan, garlic and milk
  • Simmer and stir until everything is melted, and well mixed
  • Remove from heat
  • Enjoy:)